Community Alerts

Friday, 21 April 2017 09:28

Missing kitty

We are missing a large striped cat. He took off on Tuesday in the tip top area. He's an old…
Tuesday, 18 April 2017 17:33

RCVFD Book Boxes

With all the construction that has gone on the last several years, I am wondering if there are homeowners out…
Monday, 17 April 2017 12:26

Volunteer Needed!

Wanted: A crafty person to organize the craft vendor booths for the 2017 Mountain Festival. This involves signing up crafters,…
Sunday, 16 April 2017 20:22

2 Dogs Found

We found a black and white border collie and a blue heeler mix up near the fire station this afternoon.…
Tuesday, 11 April 2017 06:31

Prescribed burn information

Two prescribed burns are happening nearby. Neither is in our area, but residents may see or smell smoke during these…
Monday, 10 April 2017 21:09

Two Dogs: One lost, one found

DOG # 1My 5 yr small dog slipped his collar this morning in Paradise Park, and haven't seen him in…
Saturday, 08 April 2017 11:18

2nd Annual Wildfire Preparedness Day

The Rist Canyon Volunteer Fire Department Is Inviting YOU to the2nd Annual Wildfire CommunityPreparedness Day onSaturday - May 6, 2017…
Tuesday, 28 March 2017 18:58

A Break In

Yesterday between 0700 & 1800 hrs. someone broke into my neighbors house which was locked. (Rist Canyon Road near Fire…
Monday, 20 March 2017 19:49

3 Goats

In Masonville: 3 goats are on our hillside, and neighbors say they have been wandering around in the area for…
Thursday, 16 March 2017 09:28

Red Flag Warning

We are under a Red Flag Warning today from 11:00 AM until 7:00 PM. Forecast calls for west winds 20-30…
Saturday, 11 March 2017 15:14

A Cutie Found

I found this cutie at the bottom of whale rock on rust canyon road in Bellevue colorado.http://wesrutt.com/rcvfd_alert%203-11-17.htmlNaomi This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Friday, 03 March 2017 20:03

Elk on the loose

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is asking people to be on the lookout for a wild adult female elk wearing…
Wednesday, 22 February 2017 23:21

Report Collared Elk Sightings

The US Department of Agriculture is asking people to be on the lookout for a wild adult female elk wearing…
Friday, 17 February 2017 12:14

Breaking Rocks in the Canyon

There has been some speculation about the work crews using heavy equipment to widen the rock walls in the lower…
Wednesday, 15 February 2017 16:27

Nice Burros

Three nice Burros turned up in my front yard this morn. I tossed them in the pasture and closed the…
Monday, 06 February 2017 18:10

Photos Found

We found a package of photos in our driveway after there was an accident on our road and we were…
Sunday, 05 February 2017 18:12

Found Saint Bernard

This morning (Feb 5) a very gentle Saint Bernard walked up to our house on Walking Wind. He looked well…
Tuesday, 24 January 2017 13:38

Moving Books (email corrected)

Neighbors,We will be moving the books tomorrow morning at 9 AM. Anyone who can help us would be greatly appreciated.…
Saturday, 21 January 2017 16:09

Moving Books

Neighbors,I am heading up the Book Bees this year. I am trying to find guys with strong backs to help…
Saturday, 14 January 2017 10:53

Theft

Someone came onto our property either yesterday late afternoon or early this morning and stole a cordless drill, impact driver…
Wednesday, 04 January 2017 16:11

Disaster recovery funding

The 2nd round of disaster recovery funding is available to farmers and ranchers who have an agricultural business that was…
Sunday, 04 December 2016 22:47

Colorado Gives day

Colorado Gives Day is just around the corner. We are hoping to raise funds this year to keep the Rist…
Friday, 02 December 2016 10:33

Colorado Gives Day

I know we are all being stalked by our favorite non-profits about Colorado Gives Day next Tuesday (December 6th). However,…
Wednesday, 30 November 2016 08:46

Mountain Lions in Lower Canyon

Over the past month, we've had multiple mountain lion (4) sightings in the lower Canyon area (mouth of Canyon to…
Sunday, 27 November 2016 18:53

VERY IMPORTANT Art Auction News

Factoids:Over the years, the Richard Schmid Fine Art Auctions netted more than $750,000 for RCFVD capital equipment purchases and operating…
Did you know you can support RCVFD when you shop on Amazon? Go to Amazon Smile and enter Rist Canyon…
Sunday, 06 November 2016 19:47

RCVFD Training Davis Ranch Nov 9 ~7:30 pm

Please be aware that RCVFD will be conducting training in Davis Ranch this Wed night. Thanks in advance for your…
Saturday, 05 November 2016 22:01

Festival Organizational Meeting

We are already less than 10 months away from the 2017 Rist Canyon Mountain Festival and Fine Art Auction. We…
Friday, 28 October 2016 15:18

Annual Meeting November 5 at 6:00PM

The Annual Meeting and Election will be held Saturday, November 5 at 6 PM at the Stove Prairie School. All…
Saturday, 15 October 2016 20:19

Dog found

We found a dog that would really like to go home to his owners (found on our property on Fire…
Howdy Just a quick heads-up that RCVFD will be doing scenario-based training at the pull-off near Stratton Park this evening.…
Wednesday, 28 September 2016 14:55

Bull Loose

I am posting this pic so that the owner will know where this wandering fellow is. He seems like a…
Tuesday, 06 September 2016 10:38

Family Safety and Emergency Preparedness Expo

Several agencies including Larimer County, the Red Cross, Loveland Fire Authority, and Poudre Fire Authority are hosting an event to…
Thursday, 01 September 2016 17:02

Festival Times, Facebook Page, and Bake Sale

Unless you haven't been reading your email, you already know that our annual Mountain Festival is this weekend. Here are…
Wednesday, 31 August 2016 21:07

Last call for free Community dinner RSVPs

Sackits Hot Shot Catering has set tomorrow as the last day to RSVP for their head count. RSVP to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Wednesday, 31 August 2016 20:57

Volunteers needed, and last chance to RSVP

Hi fellow Rist Canyon, Buckhorn, Stove Prairie Friends,The festival is just a couple of days away, and once again we…
Tuesday, 30 August 2016 12:01

Fire Restrictions Extended

Current fire restrictions (which were set to expire the end of this month) have been extended by the Board of…
Monday, 29 August 2016 21:56

FREE Community Dinner

It's your last chance to RSVP for the FREE community dinner after the festival at 5 pm Sunday September 4th!…
Here is your chance to BE Smokey Bear! Teach a kid how to rope a steer! Like rock climbing? The…
Monday, 29 August 2016 13:30

Plants for Festival

I would like to put out an alert this week to remind people to bring plants for the plant booth…
Tuesday, 23 August 2016 08:45

Festival Bake Sale

It is that time of year again when we are all thinking about what we can do to support our…
Wednesday, 10 August 2016 13:22

Save the date: Mountain Festival

Our annual Mountain Festival is right around the corner. As always, the big day is Labor Day Sunday, which this…
Monday, 08 August 2016 16:12

Yaks Back!

The yaks are home, they are all accounted for, thanks everyone! Richard
Sunday, 07 August 2016 18:12

Yaks

Dear Folks,We put a herd of nine yaks in a pasture at about mile marker 33 in mid-July. They seemed…
Wednesday, 27 July 2016 11:06

Break-in on Stove Prairie Road

Mrs. Osterlie called me on Saturday to say that their place and their next door neighbors were broken into and…
Tuesday, 12 July 2016 12:00

Fire Ban

Larimer County - ***Situational Awareness Only ***No Action RequiredAs of noon today, a ban on open fires for the unincorporated…
Tuesday, 12 July 2016 10:52

On "QT"

We have been looking for our (Siamese) cat "QT". She was last seen on Friday last week on Emerald Glade…
Saturday, 09 July 2016 16:41

Bear Break In

RCVFD & Community, We had a bear break into our cabin on MT Ethel. First floor was mostly destroyed. There…
Thursday, 07 July 2016 16:28

Found Cat

I have an intact male orange tabby that showed up at my house yesterday and is still hanging out. Wondering…
Friday, 01 July 2016 14:28

Yaks

I have 2 yaks that escaped from me in the Buckhorn and 44h area. They have ear tags on. Any…
Friday, 01 July 2016 09:04

Rufus and Sienna

We found (2) dogs running loose on Rist Canyon Rd below Whale Rock Road. Tags say their names are Rufus…
Tuesday, 21 June 2016 16:02

Inji is missing!

Inji is a 15 pound ginger color dog missing since Saturday from the back of Stratton Park Rd. She was…
Monday, 30 May 2016 18:16

Looking for Zoey

We went for a hike with our dogs this morning around 9 am and we were almost home (Mt Ethel…
Saturday, 21 May 2016 17:17

Bears and Trash

Our trash truck drivers reported seeing the results of more than 14 bear events on Tuesday. Bears primarily overturning dumpsters…
Saturday, 21 May 2016 14:47

More Bears

Hi all. We want to report another bear break in up Rist canyon. Sounds like a similar situation( to last…
Monday, 16 May 2016 17:03

Bears Awake and Hungry

We have a cabin between Redstone Canyon & Rist Canyon and have had two bear break-ins in the last three…
Saturday, 30 April 2016 10:18

Reminder: May 7th Open Firehouse

The RCVFD community and its supporters are invited to an Open Firehouse from 10 am - 2 pm on Saturday,…