Community Alerts

Saturday, 31 July 2021 08:11

Flooding

The following messages are taken from the Larimer County Sheriff's Facebook page. Follow them there or on Twitter, and sign…
Monday, 21 June 2021 09:54

Prescribed Burn: Magic Feather

Message from Reghan Cloudman of the US Forest Service:Firefighters on the Canyon Lakes Ranger District of the Roosevelt National Forest…
Monday, 07 June 2021 14:52

Reminder for Saturday Trash Clean Up

REMINDER FOR THIS SATURDAY JUNE 12 Annual Buckhorn/Stove Prairie Road Cleanup. We will meet at Station 3 on Rist Canyon…
Wednesday, 26 May 2021 08:07

Found Dog

We've had a dog hanging out here on Stove Prairie Road for 3 days.see photos at https://docs.google.com/document/d/1EwB7HAbjdtBRH1NSGTfJY1IUPKARZgMKTnDjLcLmHVU/edit?usp=sharingIf you recognize it…
Tuesday, 25 May 2021 21:54

Crystal Mountain Community Meeting

Shayle Nelson Sabo, Emergency Management Coordinator for Larimer County, will be hosting a Community Meeting for Crystal Mountain residents Thursday…
Sunday, 23 May 2021 13:11

Found: Two Female Shepherd Mixes

Two beautiful Shepherd mixes with intense blue eyes came to WOLF late afternoon on 5/22. They were exhausted, so we…
Sunday, 23 May 2021 09:42

Found - 2 Female Shepperd Mixes

Two beautiful Shepperd mixes with intense blue eyes come to WOLF late afternoon. They're exhausted and we've setup them up…
Friday, 21 May 2021 11:08

Spring Cleanup Reminder

The meeting date for the Rist Canyon Spring Clean Up is THIS Saturday Tomorrow - May 22nd from 9 -…
Apologies for the mix-up on my part. The meeting date for the Rist Canyon Spring Clean Up is THIS Saturday…
Saturday, 08 May 2021 18:47

Spring Cleanup

Happy Spring to our residents. You will see in your latest Ristwatch that we were planning to revive our Spring…
Friday, 07 May 2021 20:36

Sandbags Coming Next Week

Hello All,I am sending this email to let you know sandbag staging will take place next week. Starting Monday and…
The Ashes to Art Project 2021 opens for bidding on May 10, 2021, at 8:00 AM MDTThe Ashes to Art…
Wednesday, 05 May 2021 11:51

Crystal Mountain Community Meeting

Lori Hodges will be hosting a community meeting for residents and landowners of Crystal Mountain tomorrow, May 6, 6:30pm-7:30pm on…
Sunday, 25 April 2021 07:31

Burn-scar Flood Preparedness Webinar

Be prepared for flood impacts and hazard preparedness related to the Cameron Peak Fire Burn-scar. Join a webinar on May…
Hello All - I wanted to provide a few updates from the newsletter that was sent out last week for…
Tuesday, 13 April 2021 13:26

FEMA Wildfire Webinars

FEMA is hosting a couple of webinars to help homeowners prepare for the after-effects of fires such as Cameron Peak.…
Monday, 12 April 2021 13:50

Ashes To Art Benefit Auction

Ashes to Art Project to Benefit Volunteer Fire Departments After Historic 2020 Colorado WildfiresOnline auction May 10–15 features artwork containing…
Sunday, 21 March 2021 22:01

Gray Cat Found

I have an apparently healthy adult gray cat that has been hanging around under my house for the last few…
I just heard from neighbor Patty Hamilton at 7114 Stove Prairie Road (north of the school) that she and 2…
Tuesday, 16 March 2021 21:33

Missing White German Shepherds

We had our two white German Shepherds get out of their enclosure at around 9:00a this morning 3/16/21 they were…
Tuesday, 16 March 2021 21:27

Missing White German Shepherds

This morning at 9:00 our two white German Shepherds got out or their enclosure and chased a herd of deer…
Saturday, 13 March 2021 17:52

Dog needs new home

We are looking for a new situation for a Pyrenees mix- female, 3 years. She is very sweet and loves…
Sunday, 07 March 2021 09:52

Rehome Clover the Cat

Our sweet, loving, beautiful cat Clover needs a new home. Our 4 month old is allergic and we need to…
Monday, 15 February 2021 15:57

Free Radon Class

Hi Folks,This just came to my attention: Larimer County State Extension is holding a free Radon Awareness Class on Zoom.…
Thursday, 21 January 2021 11:21

Mini pig on the run

Our mini pig escaped from our barn yesterday morning. He is the size of a potbelly pig, about 150 pounds,…
Saturday, 02 January 2021 16:00

Living Out Loud re-broadcast

On Tuesday, January 5th at 7 pm Living Out Loud, a public affairs show on KRFC 88.9 FM Radio Fort…
Wednesday, 02 December 2020 20:41

Cold Weather and Chicken Coops

We have had a couple of calls lately that featured heat lamps in chicken coops. No one wants to see…
Tuesday, 24 November 2020 21:47

Found Dog

Hi-I dropped a dog off at the Larimer Humane Society in Loveland. No tags but had a worn red collar.…
Tuesday, 24 November 2020 13:02

Lost Beagle Male 6 years old

Our mischievous beagle is lost!He went missing on 11/22/20 at about 4:30PMWe live near the Buckhorn Road near the Stove…
Monday, 09 November 2020 20:47

Action Required: Suppression Repair Info

Larimer County Office of Emergency Management (OEM) has information on the county's website regarding suppression repair efforts: specifically repair of…
Friday, 06 November 2020 17:07

RCVFD Annual Meeting Zoom Information

Topic: RCVFD Annual MeetingTime: Nov 7, 2020 06:00 PM Mountain Time (US and Canada) [Scheduled for 2 hours, to allow…
Thursday, 05 November 2020 10:21

Fire Suppression Repair

The following message is from Kassidy Kern, Liaison Officer for Pacific Northwest Team 2:Fire crews will be working to complete…
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 07:03

Virtual Annual Meeting

CALLING ALL RIST CANYON COMMUNITY MEMBERS!Please join your neighbors at the virtual 2020 RCVFD Annual Meeting on Saturday, November 7th,…
Saturday, 24 October 2020 15:40

Lost backpack on 44H

My backpack full of winter clothes fell out of RCVFD engine 613 on our way down the Buckhorn from winterizing…
Friday, 09 October 2020 08:23

Cameron Peak evac update

The Cameron Peak Fire was active overnight, moving south of Comanche Reservoir and Hourglass Reservoir. This triggered mandatory evacuations for…
Friday, 25 September 2020 06:53

Nov 7th Annual Meeting

The RCVFD Board requests and welcomes comments/suggestions from the community regarding the Annual Meeting scheduled for 6 pm Saturday, Nov.…
Tuesday, 22 September 2020 18:06

Zoom Meeting Details

Below are the details for tonight's Zoom Community Meeting.Topic: Mitigation - part 2Time: Sep 22, 2020 07:30 PM Mountain Time…
Sunday, 20 September 2020 14:46

Community Zoom Meeting

Topic: Mitigation - part 2Time: Sep 22, 2020 07:30 PM Mountain Time (US and Canada)Join us for our next RCVFD…
Thursday, 10 September 2020 21:30

Cameron Peak Update

On Sep 9, 2020, RCVFD responders met with LCSO Captain Shellhammer. Cpt Shellhammer is Larimer County's liaison with the Cameron…
Monday, 07 September 2020 05:27

Cameron Peak Fire Evacuation Update

Yesterday the Cameron Peak Fire took a major run at our area and touched Pingree Park Road between Old Flowers…
Friday, 04 September 2020 11:39

Community Zoom Meeting

Topic: RCVFD Community MeetingTime: Sunday, Sep 6, 2020 04:00 PM Mountain Time (US and Canada)Join us for our 4th RCVFD…
Saturday, 29 August 2020 10:40

Reminder: Community Zoom Meeting

This is a reminder for the RCVFD Community Zoom Meeting tonight August 29, at 7:00 PM.Residents from Crystal Mountain and…
Thursday, 27 August 2020 14:02

Community Zoom Meeting

The Lewstone Fire interrupted our plans for last week's Community Meeting. With the Lewstone Fire ramping up and mandatory evacuations…
Thursday, 27 August 2020 08:11

Drones

As everyone knows, there has been a lot of lightning and fire activity in our area lately. We want to…
Sunday, 23 August 2020 21:57

Lewstone Fire Security Concerns

Residents have voiced a number of concerns about security of their property while under evacuations due to the Lewstone Fire.…
Friday, 21 August 2020 17:08

Expanded Evacuation Area

The Larimer County Sheriff's Office has expanded both the mandatory and voluntary evacuation zones. Please read the following two messages…
Thursday, 20 August 2020 12:27

Community Zoom Meeting

Join us for our second Community Meeting, on Zoom as before, on Saturday, August 22, at 7:00 PM. Fire Chief…
Tuesday, 18 August 2020 21:19

Larimer County open fire ban in effect

On recommendation from the Larimer County Sheriff, the Board of Larimer County Commissioners today voted 3-0 to adopt a resolution…
Friday, 14 August 2020 20:06

Community Zoom Meeting

Join Chief Elsner, Assistant Chief Benstein, and PIO McCracken for a community meeting on the Cameron Peak Fire, Saturday August…
Thursday, 13 August 2020 17:59

Cameron Peak Fire

There is a fire burning at the north end of Chambers Lake near Cameron Pass. Current size estimate is about…
Sunday, 02 August 2020 18:34

Stringtown Fire

About 1:00 PM on 2 August, Rist Canyon firefighters and Larimer County Emergency Services responded to a 1/2-acre wildland fire…
Sunday, 26 July 2020 11:37

7/25 Smoke Report

Yesterday late afternoon, RCVFD, Larimer County Emergency Services and US Forest Service responded to a smoke report in the Moody…
Saturday, 18 July 2020 08:30

Missing cat near davis ranch road

My cat went missing 2 days ago. While I'm sure she got nabbed by a cougar, thought I'd send this…
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 14:58

Fire Update

The Larimer County Sheriff is reporting that the Stratton Park Fire had no growth overnight and is 75% contained at…
Monday, 13 July 2020 21:58

Stratton Park Fire

There is a wildland fire burning about 3 miles north of Stratton Park, approximately 3-4 acres in size, and caused…
Sunday, 12 July 2020 21:50

Bernese Mountain Dog on the loose

Just had a friend’s Bernese Mountain dog jump my fence today (July 12). She should be in the Davis Ranch…
Tuesday, 07 July 2020 07:34

New Ristwatch

Hot off the presses, the new Ristwatch is available on the RCVFD website!
The Mountain Festival is an important source of support for the RCVFD. Especially given the 2020 Festival has been cancelled,…
Friday, 26 June 2020 08:09

Be Fire Wise

As we approach the 2020 fire season, we encourage everyone to be Fire Wise. Whether you live in the mountains…
Thursday, 25 June 2020 08:07

Skipping 2020 RCVFD Mountain Festival

In an abundance of caution, the Rist Canyon Volunteer Fire Department (RCVFD) 2020 Mountain Festival, originally planned for Saturday, Sept.…
Wednesday, 17 June 2020 16:13

Found iphone

Found iPhone along Co 41. Looks like it might have been lying there for some time. It still works but…
Thursday, 28 May 2020 21:46

Small brown and white dog found

Hi , a smaller brown and white dog was wondering around my house last night, He was wet and muddy,…
Saturday, 16 May 2020 18:49

Standard Poodle Joey Still Missing

$200 reward for return of black male standard poodle Joey. He went missing Wednesday May 13. Last seen at a…
$200 reward for return of black male standard poodle Joey. He went missing Wednesday May 13. Last seen at a…
$200 reward for return of black male standard poodle Joey. He went missing Wednesday May 13. Last seen at a…
Wednesday, 13 May 2020 08:44

Lost Dog

Mixed breed girl dog 50 lbs loose in Stratton park area.contact: Angela Vannatta This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sunday, 12 April 2020 21:10

Black and White Dog Found

White & Black dog found last night in the road around Rist Canyon area. He’s missing his Family. PLEASE SHARE…
Sunday, 12 April 2020 14:42

Found a Black and White Dog

White & Black dog found last night in the road around Rist Canyon area. He’s missing his Family. PLEASE SHARE…
Saturday, 21 March 2020 18:47

Have you seen Cheyenne

My St. Bernard wandered off on the morning of Saturday, March 21, 2020, from my property in Rist Canyon.He DOES…
Saturday, 21 March 2020 15:40

COVID-19 tips for Rist Canyon residents

We know you have probably been getting bombarded by COVID-19 emails by everyone from your friends/relatives to companies you didn't…
Wednesday, 05 February 2020 08:34

Help the Book Bees

Neighbors,The Book Bees are starting to clean out the old and start collecting the new books for this year's festival.…
Tuesday, 21 January 2020 22:44

Mountain Lion

We live on Timber Pass off of Stove Prairie Road and lost one of our donkeys to a mountain lion…
Tuesday, 21 January 2020 17:33

Dog Found

I found a super friendly long hair, white-pawed dog on my property in Davis ranch, off of FR4a. No Tag…
Thursday, 02 January 2020 21:06

St Bernard, Newfoundland mix ?

A heads up. Large female black dog with white toe tips was here at our house on Fr. Rt. 4A.…
Thursday, 12 December 2019 18:18

More on Large Coyote

The large coyote that was posted on the community page on Monday paid our place a visit yesterday and went…
Monday, 09 December 2019 17:13

Large Coyote

Just wanted to report about 12:30 today we had a shepherd size coyote run down the drive and into the…
Friday, 06 December 2019 10:19

Colorado Gives Day

Colorado Gives day is Tuesday, December 10, 2019! This great tradition is a dramatic way to show how much Coloradoans…
Wednesday, 27 November 2019 22:04

Wayward Mules/Donkeys

Hello! Just before the snow storm 2 mules/donkeys showed up on our property off Davis Ranch Road. They are super…
Friday, 22 November 2019 14:22

Prairie School Festival

The RCVFD Book Bees will be selling books and gift baskets at the Stove Prairie School Festival, Saturday, December 7.…
Tuesday, 19 November 2019 09:42

A Note From the Book Bees

Neighbors,The book bees found the book box at Station 1 stuffed and we thank you for your donations. The box…
Tuesday, 22 October 2019 06:27

2019 Annual Meeting

Please join your neighbors at the 2019 RCVFD Community Potluck and Annual Meeting at 6:00 pm Saturday, Nov. 2, at…
Wednesday, 16 October 2019 10:03

Prescribed Burns In the Area

The Nature Conservancy is doing a prescribed burn at the Boy Scout Ranch on Elkhorn today, and the Forest Service…
Wednesday, 09 October 2019 17:54

New Ristwatch

Hot off the presses, the new Ristwatch is available on the RCVFD website!
Monday, 07 October 2019 11:38

Cooler and goose decoy heads

To the owner of the white pick up whose large blue and white Coleman cooler and black mesh bag of…
Sunday, 29 September 2019 14:45

Errant Cattle

I have about a dozen cows/calves on my building site. I saw similar cattle in Collards stove prairie meadow (adjoins…
Thursday, 05 September 2019 12:18

Bake Sale: Items Still Needed

BAKE SALE ITEMS STILL NEEDED! The Festival is this Saturday Sep 7, and we would LOVE to make this the…
Wednesday, 04 September 2019 14:10

Silent Auction Items at the Festival

Dear Neighbors -The Silent Auction at the RCVFD Festival this Saturday, September 7, has collected some truly awesome donations from…
Wednesday, 04 September 2019 10:04

Call for Volunteers

RCVFD Mountain Festival is Only 3 days away!We need volunteers! You can help set-up on the 5th, 6th, 7th, or…
Saturday, 31 August 2019 08:05

Bake Sale

BAKE SALE ITEMS NEEDED! We would LOVE to make this the Best Bake Sale in the history of R.C.V.F.D.. We…
Thursday, 29 August 2019 18:35

Reminder About Bus Safety

Don't forget that when a school bus has its red lights flashing, it is illegal and unsafe to pass it…
Monday, 26 August 2019 17:40

Planning Ahead

Hi folks - Got your Address Sign Yet? How will RCVFD find you in case of an emergency? Planning ahead…
Sunday, 25 August 2019 19:11

Missing you donkeys?

I had two donkey show up at the ranch this afternoon I have no idea where they came from. Can…
Wednesday, 21 August 2019 07:17

Lost Cat

We saw her hunting early Monday morning and since then, she hasn't come home. We live of Emerald Glade Lane…
Tuesday, 20 August 2019 15:20

Call for Volunteers

We need volunteers! If you can help set-up on Thursday, Friday, or Saturday morning, help work in the Book Tent,…
Monday, 19 August 2019 13:38

PVREA drones

I was reading a book in my garden at around 9:45 AM, when I heard a noise like a weedeater…
Thursday, 15 August 2019 09:55

Rattle snakes

Sue Stephens wrote:Jon and I sitting out on back patio and I said to Jon what is that noise. A…
Wednesday, 07 August 2019 20:16

Missing your cows?

Missing your cows?For a few weeks now an unbranded black Angus cow (red tag #27) and bull calf (yellow tag…
Wednesday, 31 July 2019 21:07

Come help on Saturday

This Saturday, Aug 3, at 9:30 am, RCVFD will be pouring concrete for the foundation of a shed to hold…
Sunday, 28 July 2019 11:03

Lost Dog in Davis Ranch

Our dog, Scout, got scared yesterday and jumped the fence during the storm. We found her tag which fell off…
Friday, 19 July 2019 13:58

Lost brown female dog

Our dog Stella went missing this morning around 9:00. She is a brown female with a purple collar and well…
Page 1 of 3